19363 posts since MMVI


Jan 18 2010

Four:Twenty delivers its first release of 2010 in ‘Serenade’, an EP from Compost mainstay TJ Kong, aka Erwin Van Moll.

Van Moll’s output can be traced back as far as 1994 with releases as “Faceless Techno Bastards” and his own name, but it’s his sublime take on deep house for Compost as TJ Kong which has garnered the most attention, and for good reason.

Here, on the ‘Serenade’ EP, the listener is treated to three original cuts and a remix from the hotly tipped Suelo, and none of them fall short of excellent.

A simple kick and snare intro announces ‘The Centre of The World’ before the track gently builds towards a smooth, sine wave produced melody. Steadily joined by filtered keys and flowing strings, this is emotive deep house at its finest.

Suelo’s interpretation of “The Centre of The World” takes a stripped NY approach – all kick drum and tension, but when it drops into the original’s keys via some nifty filter work and vocal adlibs, it’s equally as warm and charming. A fine example of respectful, carefully judged remixing, in short.

Modular K is the invited collaborator on ‘Venusberg’, an elaborate and disco infused piece of classic house which could thaw the most cynical of dancefloors with it’s cheering builds and excellent melodies.

Finally, ‘Ahhh’ completes the package and rounds things off brilliantly by simultaneously providing the smile inducing nature of its counterparts and a slightly more introspective, heads down feel.

The perfect Spring release, TJ Kong’s “Serenade EP” is available on beatport now from Four:Twenty.

Here is a nice little mix from TJ Kong


Tracklist after the jump:

1. Sullivan/Mowbray – free harmonic blues
2. Ruthit – Not a problem (mymy mix)
3. TJ Kong – The centre of the world
4. Solomun – Explicit
5. Two Armadillos – Patience (Will Saul & Tam Cooper remix)
6. TJ Kong – Ahhh!!!
7. Dani Koenig – Hard South Americans
8. TJ Kong – Ahhh!!!
9. Class 71 – Diamond door
10. Cherry – Alex