17535 posts since MMVI

aLamont Live At U Street Music Hall 6.28.13 – DC Dance Music

Jul 7 2013

I had the good fortune of being able to call Washington, DC my home for three years. When it comes to music scenes, DC often gets overlooked as most people consider the center of the music universe to be either New York or Los Angeles. However, there’s so many things that are bubbling in this town and soon DC will be as well known for its music as it is for its politics.

There are already several DC musicians that are making waves on a national scale. Dave Nada and Matt Nordstrom of Nadastrom invented the fusion genre of house music and reggaeton known as Moombahton in 2009 accidentally at a DC house party. Andrew Wallace aka Nacey has found success with friend and constant collaborator Steve Starks (Steve Bock) as Starks & Nacey, remixing Solidisco’s “Hooked On You” single in 2012. On his own, Andrew is the producer of up-and-coming “aquawave” trio Misun who played SXSW this past year and have been featured in publications across the board including FACT and RCRD LBL. And let’s not forget 2/3’s of the founding members of the famed U St Music Hall (and my second home for several years) Tittsworth and Will Eastman. But all is this is just the tip of the DC music iceberg.

At the end of last month, Sebastian Leger and Jordan Peak headlined a bill at U St Music Hall that was opened by DC music makers aLamont (Sami Yenigun and David Eklund). Recorded at the venue, aLamont has put together a set of new sounds coming out of the nation’s capital featuring DC stalwarts like Nadastrom and the Beautiful Swimmers, as well as up and comers Pat Jagla and Teaj. Also included are new cuts from DC labels Future Times and Silence in Metropolis. So whatever you heard about DC, forget it. This is the new DC and it goes very deep.

1. NO ID
2. Michael McLardy – Summer Crunch (Evren Ulusoy Remix) – Silence In Metropolis
3. NO ID
4. aLamont – Settle In
5. Raffi – Every Time
6. aLamont – Goodbye – NJ Records
7. Teaj – Crestone
8. Pat Jagla – Larenmc Industries
9. Beautiful Swimmers – Spezi
10. aLamont – Buckles (Dirty Mix)
11. P. Lopez – Shame
12. NO ID
13. Usual Things Around – Rescue
14. NO ID
15. Art Department, BLUD, Shaun Reeves feat. Damian Lazarus – Robot Heart (Jon Charnis, Prab K & Lovecraft Remix)
16. Chris Burns feat. KLM – We Get Deep (aLamont Mix)
17. Huerco S. – Cercy
18. Diplo & Laidback Luke – Hey (Nadastrom Remix)
19. NO ID
20. Pat Jagla – Stunner