16127 posts since MMVI

Writer: Lauren

Freshly formed supergroup Amelia Airhorn is The Knocks and Skylar Spence, who initially met while on tour last year where they discovered a mutual passion for classic disco/soul records and Fatboy Slim. As Amelia Airhorn, they reveal their first single “Miracle”, a groove-laden track that comes accompanied by an animated visualizer depicting Amelia experiencing different aspects of both artists’ hometown, New York City.

Young love can be both exciting and scary, emotions that young New York City based singer Chelsea Cutler touches on in her new single “Sixteen”. Her bashful confessional “Your Shirt” released earlier this year has clocked almost 10 million Spotify streams and “Sixteen” is well on its way to becoming a hit as well.

Brixton bred crooner and poet Sam Frankl’s “Gold Rush” is a genre bending single that’s an introspection on the effects of gentrification. Sonically it fits somewhere between Father John Misty and Glass Animals, born from a programmed bossa nova beat and looped saxophone samples.

Young Thug and French Montana producer Alex Lustig is slowly building a reputation as a buzzy solo artist in his own right, sharing the broody new single “No More,” featuring rising Australian singer Akacia and Just Blaze signee OnCue. The song follows the RnB-tinged track “Do Wrong” with British vocalist Ayelle and an exclusive mix for Mixmag which you can stream below.

Brooklyn’s Charles Fauna last appeared on Discobelle on Glassio’s “Morning House” and recently he revealed a new single from his solo project called “Abandon”. It’s a euphoric ‘fuck you’ to conformity, written as a reminder that it’s always possible to reimagine things and sonically tips its hat to the experimental pop sound of Phoenix and Passion Pit.

Paperwhite’s “Only Us” pushes the boundaries of contemporary pop music with its progressive and dreamy sound, anchored by transcendent synths and soaring melodies. It’s the third single from their forthcoming EP that will be out in July and will put a little spring in your step before summer arrives.

Los Angeles singer/songwriter/producer Jaymes Young wastes no time leading up to his debut album release and shares a third track “Don’t You Know.” The song features gritty synths and a pounding beat that drives into an intensive chorus that is practically dripping with infatuation. His summer headlining tour kicks off at the Troubadour on July 11th.