18551 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Alex Metric

One of our favorite producers/dj’s is the always amazing German producer Purple Disco Machine, his new remix of the new Alex Metric single track “Always There” (taken from his Big Beat Records release “Ammunition Pt 4” EP) is a rolling bass- and synthfilled deep house gem paired up with compelling and soulful vocals and handclaps along with just the perfect amount of warmth to make it into an instant smash.

The Alexanders, or known separately as Alex Metric and Yuksek are back with a new funky tune going by the name “Pwoin Pwoin Pwoin”, and that’s exactly what it sounds like. Building synth work sprinkled with some intergalactic woogs and woggles, all over a 4/4 house beat. Set to be released off of Yuksek’s imprint Partyfine on August 25th, “Pwoin Pwoin Pwoin” is a great addition to the already stellar discography of the young label.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/162988247″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

If you haven’t heard, there’s a new band in town and their name is Night Drive. Made up of Texas natives Rodney Connell and Brandon Duhon, Night Drive is the type of music you would hear on a car stereo if Giorgio Moroder and Ray Bradbury were driving late at night through a buzzing metropolis.

Today the two are kicking off an Alphabet themed mix set series called “Disco Alphabet”, where each mix set only features tracks with artists names starting with that letter from the alphabet. We’re happy to be presenting the first mix in the series for the letter “A”, which features tracks by everyone from Astrolabe to Anoraak to Alex Metric. As with all of the mixes in our series, Night Drive’s “Disco Alphabet – Volume A” is available as a free download so dig in.

Here’s a tidbit about the mix from the band themselves:
It’s slightly over an hour and starts with an old italo track. It has a mix of old and new (mostly new), disco-flavored stuff at around 122 bpm, no bangers or aggro stuff.

1. Automat – Droid (Cecile edit)
2. Astrolabe – Cave (Discotexas edit)
3. Annie – Songs Remind Me of You (The Swiss Remix)
4. Atlas Genius – Back Seat (Goldroom Remix)
5. Amin Peck – Running Straight
6. Alexander Holland – City Full of Lights (Gigamesh Remix)
7. Austra – Beat and the Pulse (Still Going Remix)
8. Abba – Midnight Mouse (Mighty Mouse Not So Official Edit Type Thingy)
9. All the Lights – Chasing Colours (Moonchild Remix)
10. Anoraak – Nightdrive (haha!) with You (Tesla Boy Remix)
11. Ali Love – Smoke and Mirrors
12. Aston Shuffle – I Wanna See You (Dcup Remix)
13. Alex Metric – Scandalism
14. Aeons – Beyond the Satellites (Ted’s Like Whoa! mix)
15. Acos Coolkas – Free Flight (Sare Havlicek Mix)
16. Alan Braxe and Fred Falke – Chrystal City

Alex Metric is best known as a producer of frenetic, chopped up dancefloor burners with a high-octane intensity that borders on dubstep. On his new track “Scandalism,” however, the London native demonstrates some range by exploring French Touch synthwave territory. The blissed-out production, laden with chiming arpeggios and euphoric filter sweeps, recalls 80s-inspired disco house artists like Anoraak and Lifelike. Aptly described by Et Musique Pour Tous as “laser light show gospel music with a soft-focus glow.”

“Scandalism” is featured on Metric’s new Ammunition Pt. 3 EP, out now via OWSLA.

Sex Face

Aug 17 2010

Disco Of Doom are just about to unleash their brand new single “Engine EP” (out soonish on Gung Ho! Recordings) and they were kind enough to send this over for you all to feast your ears on until the releasedate. The massive A-side “Sex Face” has been getting props from Brodinski, Drop The Lime, Zinc, Kissy Sell Out, Etienne De Crecy, Alex Metric, Mason, Plump DJs and more.

[soundcloud url=”http://soundcloud.com/discoofdoom/sets/disco-of-doom-engine-ep-gung-ho”]

BONUS: Video of Brodinski dropping the tune.

Do You

May 18 2009


Freeland released their new single today. It feature some nice remixes from Joker, PANtYRAiD, Moonbootica and High Rankin. Love the Joker one. Listen to it in the player below and then go get it!

We also got this new mixtape from Adam Freeland that features some upcoming tunes from Freeland and a upcoming track from Alex Metric. What a way to kick of the week!

You can pre-order the Freeland album “COPEâ„¢” here.

Download: Adam Freeland went to Brighton and all we got was this lousy mix tape


UK producer/DJ Freeland is about to release his new album on Marine Parade in June and “Under Control” is the first single off the album and this clubfriendly remix by Alex Metric features some huge beats that’s bound to make the dancefloor take off. Other remixers include horror afficionados Evil Nine, discopopsters Goldenbug and the techno outfit Zombie Nation.

Here is a stream of the track:

If you register on this page, they will send you a link for the mp3 of the track.