19323 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Dither Down

For the avid reader of Discobelle, the name DJ Wool should be associated with superb dj sets (he’s a former DMC champion) and seriosuly bumping tracks on labels such as Top Billin, Plant Music, Discobelle Records etc. along with being a member of popular indie/dance duo The Glass. He’s also a maestro in the mixing/production room having worked with the likes of REM, Dolores O’Riordan (The Cranberries), Spoek Mathambo, Todd Terry, Far East Movement, Herbert Gronemeyer, Jagz Kooner, Howie B, Andy Rourke (The Smiths), Tittsworth and many more.

After spending time in New York and Berlin, Dublin born DJ Wool has relocated to Northern California where he’s working as an audio engineer and has also been hard at work in his studio with new album “A Life In Breaks” which will be released on October 21st via NYC label Dither Down.

This absolutely astounding and warm, organic sounding mix for us sees him exploring breaks, minimal and ambient AKA “Ambi-Rock” and it’s inspired by what made him start his music career back in the 90’s.

Newly formed duo Jogyo (translated from sanskrit means “pure thoughts or stillness among action”) released their debut single “Rude Boy” on top quality NYC label Dither Down yesterday. The 12” release features remixes from NYC heroes Whatever/Whatever and Eli Escobar along with Swiss producer Wildlife!

Eli Escobar should be considered one of the top DJs in New York and he always floors us with brilliant productions, remixes and mixes. His take on the track hits hard with a 90’s sirenlaced acid bounce that has us dancing around the Discobelle office. Grab the free download of the remix via the Soundcloud link below.

NYC duo Walker & Royce (aka Sam Walker and Gavin Royce) are making a splash with their Dither Down release “Little Things” after releasing a string of remixes for artists such as SAARID, Kolombo and Ante Perry, 33Hz, Publicist and SPF 5000, along with a batch of their own club-ready original tracks.

“Little Things” has already been played out and supported by the likes of Jacques Renault, Volta Bureau, Cassian and Infinity Ink. The funky track is a surefire late summer anthem that comes backed with among others this remix by Discobelle favorite Eli Escobar who gives the track with a mean disco groove and the piano break is a true hands in the air moment. Download via the Soundcloud player below.

Under The Sun

Apr 30 2011

New NYC based label Dither Down (headed up by Tim Wagner of 33Hz and DJ Chicus of the reggae label Redbud Records) is coming out strong with their latest vinyl only release from 33Hz, “Under The Sun” features solid remixes from NYC hero Eli Escobar, Norwegian disco maestro Prins Thomas and also Brooklyn producer Trap.Avoid who delivers a minimal disco sounding affair.

33 Hz – Under The Sun (Trap.Avoid Dub) (direct link)

BONUS: Here’s the Sal P (of Liquid Liquid) & Neurotic Drum Band remix of the last Trap.Avoid single on Dither Down.

Trap.Avoid – Little Countries (Sal P & Neurotic Drum Band Remix) (RCRD LBL link)

Dither Down

Sep 11 2010

Dither Down is a new label based in Brooklyn that was started up by Tim Wagner and Benny Lowe of 33Hz along with DJ Chicus of the reggae label, Redbud Records. The label is centered around their love of indie pop, disco, dub, 80s electro and house and it will focus on releases with up and coming New York artists pairing them up with the best remixers from around the world.

Here’s the first Dither Down mini-mixtape which gives us a taste of their fall release schedule that will feature soon-to-be-released tracks and remixes from among others: Trap.Avoid, 33Hz, Populette, Neurotic Drum Band, Eli Escobar, Douster, Lazy Flow, Daniel Haaksman, Victor Rice & Saadi.

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/5169490?secret_token=s-8gg9y”]

Tracklist after the jump.

Continue reading