19363 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Drop the Lime

Hot off the presses from burgeoning, NYC collective, Safer At Night, is the debut EP from Peruvian-born producer, Jorge Balarezo. A shimmering and unique debut, the “Influence EP” fits perfectly with Safer At Nights penchant for blending experimental Techno and dance-floor friendly House with the added offering of at least one ambient soundscape per release. The titular tune utilizes chirpy, stuttering percussion, ominous bass swells and subterranean sampling to create an eerie, otherworldly tapestry of tangled beauty.

“Altitude” steps up next to announce it’s intentions of wreaking havoc on dance floors… which it does oh so well. The combination of rocksteady rhythms and pumping bass riffs instill visions of late night gatherings in burned out buildings… post-apcolyptic party goers beating broken slabs of concrete and steel with their jack-booted soles. The ethereal mysticism of “Tropic of Capricorn,” Balarezo’s ambient contribution, draws the EP to it’s close with six minutes of swelling pads, cooing seagulls and cavernous reverbs dripping in dramatic synth lines and mechanical textures.

The “Influence EP” is available now on Beatport, buy it HERE.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/198587723″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]
[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/198587701″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]
[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/198587686″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Hey Discobelle friends,

First of all, thank you for your continued support and readership. We’ve been writing and sharing our love of music with the world since 2006, and over seven years later we’re still going strong. We decided that our little corner of the blogosphere needed a makeover so today we’re proud to present the newly redesigned Discobelle. Now it’s even easier to: discover new music, find similar tracks and artists, follow DB Records releases, watch your favorite videos, enter for ticket giveaways, and stay connected.

To celebrate the launch, we’re also kicking off a series of exclusive mixes from some of our friends and favorites producers. Today’s mix comes from Drop The Lime and the Trouble & Bass crew. Have a listen and take a peek around the new site!

The Discobelle Family

Trouble & Bass Discobelle Exclusive Mix:
1. Damn Kids – Tyledon
2. Underheadz – Check Dis
3. We Are Nuts – Bombaclat (DJ Q Remix)
4. DTL – Like It
5. TWRK & 4Korners – WORK (130 PUSHUP)
6. Youngstar – Pulse X (Slackk Remix)
7. Kill Frenzy Feat. DJ Funk – Make That Booty Clap (The Martin Brothers Remix)
8. Tony Quattro Feat. Doctor Jeep – Forth & Seek
9. Royal T – I Know You Want Me
10. Drop The Lime – Like Thunder (T&B Refix)
11. Lucent – Ripper
12. AC Slater – Donkey Shake
13. Tessela – Hackney Parrot
14. Petey Clicks & Whistles – Heckno
15. Decibel Feat. Flowdan – Skanks
16. Star Eyes – Purple Grape
17. Strange VIP – No One Left

Special thanks to our designer Stephen Jefferson and Jay Campbell for the cover art.

When UK based producer DJ Haus is not busy putting out ruthless and perfected club stompers that sound like they were made on some other planet on his label Unknown To The Unknown, he produces Thug Houz Anthems (which also happens to be the name of his forthcoming album) such as the frantic club galopping track “Hurt U Baby” that was done in collaboration with New York producer and master of dark bass Drop The Lime.

Brooklyn based marauder of bass and longtime Discobelle family member – Drop The Lime – drops a new mix in celebration of his recently released single “No Sleep For The Wicked” (taken from his debut album “Enter The Night”. Check the brilliant zombie cheerleader plagued video here, the single was released on Ultra Music January 15th).

As always, Luca, showcases his rockabilly swagger mixed with an onslaught of techno/house and bass for a seamless mix that’s guaranteed to make you sweat even if you’re just listening to it on your computer.