17610 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Giorgio Moroder

After the success of his recently released album “Invisible”, much acclaimed German house DJ/producer Sharam Jey is set to release the second instalment of the album’s stellar remix package, “Invisible – The Remix Album (Part 2)”, via Bunny Tiger Records on December 10th (Part 1 of the remix package dropped about two weeks ago)

The full 22 track remix album (Part 1 and Part 2) follows the original LP (released back in September) which saw him deliver 14 synth laced tracks that drew inspiration from the likes of Giorgio Moroder, Röyksopp, Daft Punk and Depeche Mode with guest vocal contributions from Little Boots, Dirty Vegas, KLP, Kat, Dacia Bridges and Ashibah.

The second remix package includes reworks by the likes of likes of Kolombo and Mason, we here at Discobelle can premiere the remix from UK based producer Vanilla Ace which makes sure to transform the track “Planet Love” into a steadfast, deep house groover that will make wonders on dancefloors.

All in all, the new remix album complements the original LP perfectly and serves up an intriguing variety of dancefloor ready tracks by a handpicked array of international talents.

Disco classic “I Feel Love” was produced by Giorgio Moroder and Pete Bellotte, with lyrics by Donna Summer and first appeared on Donna Summer’s 1977 album “I Remember Yesterday”, it could be considered as “one of the most influential records ever made”. Following in the wake of such high esteem is no mean feat – however – Cr2 founder Mark Brown AKA MYNC alongside legendary 90’s house duo Rhythm Masters created an edit back in 2010 which conquered the beach bars and clubs of Ibiza throughout that season.

Since then, the edit has remained in the Cr2 vaults awaiting a refreshed version for the changing face of electronic music in 2017 and beyond… Finally, the moment came, alongside the labels “Past, Present & Future” series which has seen some of the most exciting producers reinvigorate Cr2classics, it became clear that this particular edit was worth an overhaul.

Handpicked for their notable underground style, Glaswegian duo Illyus & Barrientos fires up their signature club-ready house style and transforms the track into an even bigger, floor-filling thunderous anthem.

You can pre-order the track here.

Giorgio Moroder’s upcoming full-length features quite a few collaborations with serious star power behind them. The recently revealed track “Déjà Vu” featuring vocals from pop singer juggernaut Sia, who adds a bit of a lovelorn upper register chorus over funky guitar licks. A second track from the album that we’ve seen floating around is a cover of “Tom’s Diner” with none other than Britney Spears. Now this one really puzzled us, but somehow it works. Both tracks will appear on Giorgio’s “74 Is The New 24” album. See below for a full tracklisting.

74 Is The New 24 Tracklist:
1. 4 U With Love
2. Déjà Vu (ft. Sia)
3. Diamonds (ft. Charli XCX)
4. Don’t Let Go (ft. Mikky Ekko)
5. Right Here, Right Now” (ft. Kylie Minogue)
6. Tempted (ft. Matthew Koma)
7. 74 is the New 24
8. Tom’s Diner (ft. Britney Spears)
9. Wildstar (ft. Foxes)
10. Back and Forth (ft. Kelis)
11. I Do This For You (ft. Marlene)
12. La Disco

Irish disco dons, Get Down Edits, embark on a month long giveaway series with their dope version of the classic tune, “Chase”. Featured as the theme from the 1978 film, Midnight Express, Chase is a perfect representation of Moroder’s groundbreaking production skills and a mile stone of dance music on a global and historic level. On the heels of his certified gold collaboration with Donna Summer, Chase (and the Midnight Express soundtrack) introduced Moroder to household audiences and won the Italian producer an Academy Award.

In this updated version, the Get Down Edits boys make handy use of razor and tape and drop some tasty, Giorgio vocal snips snagged from his recent collaboration with Daft Punk. Be sure and follow the lads as they plan to open their personal edit vaults by offering a free download every week in August, how nice!

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/103563913″ params=”” width=” 640%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

ROOM8 is one of my favorite up-and-coming groups right now. They previewed two tracks from their Transduction EP last year that features vocals from Electric Youth and sax work of Ian Young from M83. On top of that, legendary producer Giorgio Moroder arranged the record himself. It’s amazing that ROOM8 is still such a secret but we can’t imagine that they will be for much longer.

Recently the LA-based duo released a electrified cover of Phil Collins’ “One More Night.” If you happen to live in the LA area, ROOM8 and Electric Youth are starting a monthly residency every second Thursday at Palihouse called “Night Cruise”.