16733 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Lucid

As part of Dazed Digital’s new summer US project “States of Independence” they’ve invited their favorite 30 American curators, magazines, creatives and institutions to takeover Dazed for a day.

Premier record label Fade to Mind staged a mid-week takeover at Dazed Digital yesterday where the members of the unlocked their vault and shared 5 exclusive edits now available for free download.

Kingdom pieces together Fatima Al Qadiri with Gangsta Boo, Prince William flips Miley Cyrus “Adore You”, MA takes on r’n’b singstress Kelela, Massacooramaan goes head to head with Krayzie Bone while Rizzla mixes Lucid with DJ Dior.

September 25th sees the arrival of the first installment of new compilation series “Mixpak Pressure” by NYC label Mixpak, “Mixpak Pressure Volume One” is inspired by Southern rap instrumentals and it plays off crunk, screw and other offshoots.

“The compilation taps into the current interest in all things Dirty South, while putting a modern spin on the sound. Unencumbered by a full vocal, producers are able to strip down and flip the script, while exploring the trunk-rattling bass and scattershot snare rolls that characterize the sound.

Australia’s Lucid turns out the anthemic trance-driven “Transet”, pairing well with a hard-knocking piece called “Trunkin” by Philly’s Krueger(which you can grab as a free download below) and Matt Shadetek’s massive “The Machines”. The Bay and NYC meet up on Dark Ages’ old-skool hardcore-inspired “Amnesia Houz”, while UK grime producer Mr. Mitch gets simply ruffneck with horror house vocal play on “Badman Wheel”. Elsewhere, Mele, Sam Tiba, Sleepyhead, Strange VIP and ¡El Cucuy! go wild and drop it down low. Crank this one loud and mix it up.”

Here’s a mix for the weekend from Brussels based DJ Slow, who also happens to be the leader of the Pelican Fly pack. He goes in hard with this mix and even includes that anthemlike Richelle remix of our very own Marcus Price and his track “Continental Skank” (the remix can now be downloaded via the Discobelle Records Soundcloud).

“Our 18th podcast comes from Brussels native, Pelican Fly label head, and quite the bad boy on the decks — Thomas Duval aka DJ Slow. Right from the jump, after Canblaster sent us a promo for FLY001 by Richelle, this and each following release made its way into our collective DJ crate. Releases from Sinjin Hawke, Mister Tweeks and Lucid followed along with remixes from artists like LOL Boys, Sam Tiba, DJ Sliink and more, making Pelican Fly a definite label to keep tabs on. Along with a newly crowned Pelican Fly production squad consisting of DJ Slow, label co-founder Richelle and Mister Tweeks, the crew hosts a regular party at the illustrious Social Club in Paris which is also home base for many of our favorite Paris crews as well.

Salva and Shlohmo hit up Social Club with DJ Slow and mega homie Guillaume Berg while in Europe earlier this year, and these cats really did their thing. Therefore we thought it time to showcase DJ Slow’s label, aesthetic and musical taste for our next podcast. He combines styles like Atlanta Rap and Jersey club into South African house and sleazy Techno, with the rawness of UK Grime — making Slow’s sound that of a perfect blend for the dance floor. Great amount of exclusives and all around acid-trip-booty-sweat vibes on this one.”

Frite Nite Podcast 18: DJ Slow (direct link)

Tracklist after the jump.

Continue reading

The Brussels based, internationally minded Pelican Fly label is definitely in the running for label of the year in terms of hardworking DIY hustle, originality and ingenuity, and of course unpredictably powerful dance floor staples. No surprise then that the latest release from Barcelona resident Sinjin Hawke is an orchestral compilation of swooning, ready to burst dance music equally informed by Rustie, cassette tapes of r&b jams you taped off the radio but then left out in the sun, and the noise you hear right before Young Jeezy runs over you in a Hummer.

Technically, “The Lights” is an EP, but weighing in at eight tracks, including into and outro pieces that work perfectly with the tone of the project, it feels a lot bigger. Maybe that’s also because Sinjin flexes an incredibly varied amount of muscles on this one, leading things off with the stutter step inducing booty clap hypnosis session that is “Like That”. Pitched hip hop samples in dance music isn’t reinventing the wheel, but when Sinjin brings the pitch to a complete halt at two minutes in, it’s comparable to “The Whisper Song” in terms of hedonistic dancefloor sleaze.

There are moments where “The Lights” kicks into full DJ Khaled mode – the horn filled bravado of “Intro” or the chemically inspired maximalist beat of “Crystal Dust” which give a bit of a genuine shiver up the spine. And there’s even a slow jam on here in the form of absurdist vocal house from one Martyn Bootyspoon, who pines after women who make him want to “drink a glass of milk, on this hot sunny day”. Whatever that means, it’s definitely up there with Julio Bashmore’s “Grand National” in terms of odd sampling sources – weird enough to make you raise an eyebrow on the dancefloor, but anthemic enough to keep you moving.

Stream the whole EP on Soundcloud, then BUY IT on iTunes, and enjoy this treasure chest full of amazing free music from the Pelican Fly family, including a collaboration with recent Discobelle Records necromancer-by-day-producer-by-night, Lucid.

Morri$ x Sinjin Hawke – One Kiss

Lucid x Sinjin Hawke – Fizzy Drink

Dj Sliink x Sinjin Hawke – Gas Pump

Worthy’s new release on Discobelle Records is a skeletal house beat with some big hollow, rapid wartime drums on the original which blossoms into a piece of tech house trance warfare – we’ve also got a 7th level of hell reworking from Pelican Fly alumni Lucid, and LOL Boys working some percussive somersaults with the original, building it up into one of their most infectious ballooning basslines to date.

Stream the whole EP here, and download the LOL Boys remix for free below:

Worthy – Lost Dog (LOL Boys Remix) (Mediafire)

Grab it now at Juno, Boomkat and iTunes!

Some big support for this EP from Brodinski, Crookers, Lil Silva, Round Table Knights, Joyce Muniz, Dubbel Dutch, NT89 and more after the cut:

Continue reading