19323 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Misun

Nacey, the producer behind the self-proclaimed “aqua wave” indie rock outfit Misun, today announced the band’s new single “After Me.” This new single sees the band taking on a more somber and downtempo sound, but they’ve lost none of the feeling. “After Me” appears on the band’s forthcoming EP “Feel Better” out May 29th.

Some DC homies of mine recently launched a management company/label called Cuff Records and one of their debut artists is producer Rex Riot. His first release with Cuff features the magical voice of Misun Wojcik (of DC aquawave band Misun). “Birds and Bees” is big and bold, yet still quite melodic with an upbeat vibe. Check it out below!

I had the good fortune of being able to call Washington, DC my home for three years. When it comes to music scenes, DC often gets overlooked as most people consider the center of the music universe to be either New York or Los Angeles. However, there’s so many things that are bubbling in this town and soon DC will be as well known for its music as it is for its politics.

There are already several DC musicians that are making waves on a national scale. Dave Nada and Matt Nordstrom of Nadastrom invented the fusion genre of house music and reggaeton known as Moombahton in 2009 accidentally at a DC house party. Andrew Wallace aka Nacey has found success with friend and constant collaborator Steve Starks (Steve Bock) as Starks & Nacey, remixing Solidisco’s “Hooked On You” single in 2012. On his own, Andrew is the producer of up-and-coming “aquawave” trio Misun who played SXSW this past year and have been featured in publications across the board including FACT and RCRD LBL. And let’s not forget 2/3’s of the founding members of the famed U St Music Hall (and my second home for several years) Tittsworth and Will Eastman. But all is this is just the tip of the DC music iceberg.

At the end of last month, Sebastian Leger and Jordan Peak headlined a bill at U St Music Hall that was opened by DC music makers aLamont (Sami Yenigun and David Eklund). Recorded at the venue, aLamont has put together a set of new sounds coming out of the nation’s capital featuring DC stalwarts like Nadastrom and the Beautiful Swimmers, as well as up and comers Pat Jagla and Teaj. Also included are new cuts from DC labels Future Times and Silence in Metropolis. So whatever you heard about DC, forget it. This is the new DC and it goes very deep.

1. NO ID
2. Michael McLardy – Summer Crunch (Evren Ulusoy Remix) – Silence In Metropolis
3. NO ID
4. aLamont – Settle In
5. Raffi – Every Time
6. aLamont – Goodbye – NJ Records
7. Teaj – Crestone
8. Pat Jagla – Larenmc Industries
9. Beautiful Swimmers – Spezi
10. aLamont – Buckles (Dirty Mix)
11. P. Lopez – Shame
12. NO ID
13. Usual Things Around – Rescue
14. NO ID
15. Art Department, BLUD, Shaun Reeves feat. Damian Lazarus – Robot Heart (Jon Charnis, Prab K & Lovecraft Remix)
16. Chris Burns feat. KLM – We Get Deep (aLamont Mix)
17. Huerco S. – Cercy
18. Diplo & Laidback Luke – Hey (Nadastrom Remix)
19. NO ID
20. Pat Jagla – Stunner

Hailing from our nation’s capital, Misun is self-described three-piece “aquawave” electropop outfit. The new album produced by Nacey (of Nouveau Riche and Starks & Nacey fame) will pull you in with its downtempo, lovelorn sound and singer Misun’s soul-infused vocals. Today the group’s debut album The Sea is out via T&A Records as a free download. And to sweeten the pot, we’re premiering Steve Starks‘ remix of the title track that really kicks it up a notch. Starks takes it from a blissed out summer tune and turns it into a brazen big room electro jam. Take a listen to the full album stream and Starks’ remix below, as well as my chat with the group about their new album.

Nancy Lu: How did you guys meet and decide to start collaborating?
The three of us met two years ago at Science Club, a spot in Dupont Circle. Misun (our vocalist) was waitressing and both Will and Nacey DJ there, so we’d see each other a lot. Once we heard Misun’s voice it wasn’t long before we started to meet regularly at Nacey’s bedroom studio on U Street.

NL: How do you guys split the work when it comes to production, lyrics, etc?
We’ve been pretty lucky as far as how easy it’s been working together – many of the songs on the EP came together in an afternoon. When we meet, the first thing we do is figure out what mood we’re in, and what kind of vibe we want to go with during that session. After that it’s really a free-for-all: Misun’s writing down lyrics while Will’s comping on the guitar and Nacey’s creating a synth. And it’s pretty common for us to jump in with ideas on what each other is doing.

NL: Can you describe what “aquawave” is?
It’s funny we got that label, but it fits for now.  A lot of the EP has summer / beach themes, so we’re not mad at it.  We had one friend
ask how we got the ‘underwater guitar sound’ on ‘July,’ … maybe it’ll stick.

NL: We first got a glimpse of Misun last summer with the single “July.” Why did you wait til 2012 to release the debut album?
Back then we were writing for fun, and didn’t have a clear goal of where we were going with the group. But after recording more and getting some positive feedback from friends, we wanted to take Misun seriously. To reinforce: we’re responding to the interview questions in a rehearsal space with no AC and it’s 103 degrees outside, so we’ve definitely shifted gears!

NL: What can we expect from Misun in the future?
We’re about halfway through recording our second release which we’re planning to put out in the fall. Since a few of the tracks on the EP leaked on The Fader and RCRD LBL, we’ve had other artists reach out to us for remixes, and vocal features/collaborations, so we’re excited about trying that as well. “The Sea” Remix EP (also on T&A) comes out July 31st, which features Steve Starks, Cousin Cole, Gavin Holland, Londres, William DeVon and Billy the Gent.

NL: Can you describe what your live show at U St Music Hall will be like on July 19th?
We’re really stoked about performing at UHall, it’s like a second home and a perfect place for our first show. We’ve added a cellist and might have a few surprises that night. Overall our live sound is pretty true to the EP – dancey, fun and with a lot of variety.