13188 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: mix


Born in Peru, raised in Costa Rica and now residing in Brooklyn, producer/dj Jorge Balarezo recently released his debut EP “Influence” via the fine NYC label known as Safer At Night.

We here at Discobelle can provide you with an exclusive and spectacular mix from Jorge that spans over 2 hours and is a perfect example of the late night, dark techno/house sounds filled with intricate and brooding melodies, deep and murky basslines which in short is all that we’ve come to expect from the Safer At Night crew.


The mind behind one of the music blogosphere’s first and most well-known sites MOARRR (formally known as AudioPorn Central) Simon Iddol is a DJ’s DJ. Since 2006 Simon’s successfully kept an air of mystery around his identity and put out monthly mixes that showcase why he’s still a top tastemaker. Simon’s been kind enough to put together a mix for our exclusive series featuring 13 tracks that span the genres as far as sound while still maintaining a cohesive vision.

“I love making monthly mixes,” Simon says. “Each one is a special process, and each mix reflects my current mood like an sonic diary, or a mindtrip. This current mix is really special in many ways, cause the last month was really intense and great, and I see that the direction I took is good and I’m going in the right direction.”

Stay tuned for more from Simon as he’s currently in the studio working on his debut album.

01 Son Of Sound – Time 2 Work pt. 2
02 Catz N Dogz – Nobody Cares
03 MANTU – Hang Loose (Less Hate remix)
04 Creta Kano – Galactic Halo
05 Franco Buzzoni – Elaeagnus
06 Mirko Loko – Kolor (c2 remix Part One)
07 Michael Nielebock – Scream (Teenage Mutants remix)
08 Sam Russo – Work It Out
09 Maxime Dangles – Rough
10 Peter Corvaia – Honey in Orbit
11 George Fitzgerald – Knife To The Heart
12 DEEP88 ft Robert Owens – Believe In You (Jacques Renault Dubstrumental)
13 Secaina Hudson – I Ain’t With You (Soul Clap Dub)


One of our favorite West Coast DJs aRod just released his SpringGlo 2015 mix earlier this week. Over the last few years, aRod has put together these seasonal mixes of his top tracks and proves time and again that he’s a tastemaker to follow. Comprised of 14 tracks, the SpringGlo mix features house, disco, and pop favorites from the last six months or so, including buzzed about hits like Seoul’s “The Line” and Du Tonc’s “Animals.” Take a listen below and enjoy!

001 Seoul – The Line
002 Jamie xx [feat. Romy] – Loud Places
003 Kazy Lambist – Doing Yoga
004 HNNY – Solsidan
005 Beshken – Hiro
006 Chloe Martini [feat. Azteka] – Volatile Dreams
007 Du Tonc – Animals
008 George Maple – Where You End And I Begin (SHIZUKE$A EDIT)
009 Just Kiddin’ – Getaway
010 Jonas Rathsman – Wolfsbane
011 Serge Devant & Damiano [feat. Camille Safiya] – Fearing Love
012 Great Good Fine OK – Too Much To Handle (Penguin Prison Remix)
013 SBTRKT [ft. Denai Moore] – The Light (Xinobi Rework)
014 Tame Impala – Let It Happen


The moustache clad producer/dj Sammy Bananas started out in Boston together with a fella named Max as the duo Certified Bananas (they did a smashing mix for us in Discobelle back in 2006 called “Sweden On Blast”).

Sammy moved down to Brooklyn, became part of the Fool’s Gold Records crew, and continues to douse out magical and funky club jams that manages to pay respect to the classic house/disco sound but also stays ahead of the curve.

This mix for us in Discobelle was made at the same time as Sammy wrecked havoc on SXSW and WMC, we’re super glad he took the time out to churn out one seriously amazing mix that should have you dancing well into the summer.

PS. Those of you located in NYC, check out Sammy together with Gigamesh and Cassian at the Good Room in Brooklyn this Friday.


The “Theatrical Techno Illustrated” album from Tokyo Offshore Project (the brainchild of Japanese musician Kiyoshi Miyaura alongside UK house pioneers Frankie Valentine and Simon Lovejoy, between the two of them Simon and Frankie have produced with huge names such as Bj√∂rk, Carl Cox, Orbital and DJ Harvey) and it’s a collection of 11 rare and unreleased tracks from the UK house pioneers which were recorded between 1990-1995.

To celebrate the release which dropped on March 9th via Mental Groove Records, Simon Lovejoy has put together an exclusive and amazing mix for us in Discobelle consisting purely of rare 90s electronica.


We consider Swedish producer/dj MRTN to be part of the Discobelle fam, he has spent a big chunk of the past decade dj’ing at clubs/festivals/showcases across most of the Northern hemisphere and also running the succesful blog turned label Stockholm Beat Connection. In 2011 he started producing together with POMP (Robyn’s drummer) under the moniker MRTN and they’ve racked up a string of strong releases, most notably their 2011 track “Slow” and the 2014 release “Illusion.

We’re proud to present you with this excellent housed up mixtape from MRTN, which should enable you all to get in that weekend spirit albeit a day early.


Brazilian producer Cesare has had a slow and steady rise over the last few years. In that time, he’s accumulated a bunch of acclaimed productions, including official remixes for Citizens!, Chela and more. Always bringing a fresh take on disco-funk, Cesare is back with a delightful springlike EP. Take a listen to this exclusive mix below to catch some summer vibes and get a taste of what the EP is all about.


Copenhagen producer/dj Unkwon AKA Anders Dixen is already well established as a highly regarded producer (with several top notch remixes under his belt along with his own spectacular original tracks) and dj with his unique formula of bassdriven, slo-mo, synthfilled and futuristic sounding r’n’b/house.

His exclusive mix for us here at Discobelle further embodies that sound when it starts off dark and moody, almost angst ridden sound of beats, invigorating synths and basically straight up vibes before finishing off with a somewhat more disco sounding mode.