19323 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Plant Music

NYC based producer/dj Higgins is at the forefront of the burgeoning new house/disco scene in the Big Apple and is also part of the notorious crew Kaviar Disco Club. He also just dropped his fantastic “Escape” EP (which you can listen to below) via our friends in Plant Music.

This exclusive Discobelle mix is a wonderfully spaced out and funked up house/disco affair that was recorded live at Le Bain in New York, we’ve been listening to this non-stop since we received it.

For the avid reader of Discobelle, the name DJ Wool should be associated with superb dj sets (he’s a former DMC champion) and seriosuly bumping tracks on labels such as Top Billin, Plant Music, Discobelle Records etc. along with being a member of popular indie/dance duo The Glass. He’s also a maestro in the mixing/production room having worked with the likes of REM, Dolores O’Riordan (The Cranberries), Spoek Mathambo, Todd Terry, Far East Movement, Herbert Gronemeyer, Jagz Kooner, Howie B, Andy Rourke (The Smiths), Tittsworth and many more.

After spending time in New York and Berlin, Dublin born DJ Wool has relocated to Northern California where he’s working as an audio engineer and has also been hard at work in his studio with new album “A Life In Breaks” which will be released on October 21st via NYC label Dither Down.

This absolutely astounding and warm, organic sounding mix for us sees him exploring breaks, minimal and ambient AKA “Ambi-Rock” and it’s inspired by what made him start his music career back in the 90’s.

Our companions over at NYC label Plant Music are about to release the second edition of their electronic compilation series – “Love Me Too”.

Drawing its name and inspiration from the unique artwork of world renowned visual artist Curtis Kulig’s iconic “Love Me”, the compilation features the next wave of DJ and production talent from New York, but also includes artists from the rest of the US and the world. The official releasedate for this smashing compilation is April 8th with a March 25th exclusive edition for Beatport that contains extended mixes for DJ’s and an added bonus club cut from longtime Plant family member Eli Escobar.

Eli Escobar provides us with proper jacking house number “Let Me Love You” that’s perfect for getting into the weekend mayhem, grab the free download below.

Velcro is a Los Angeles based house duo consisting of Kevin Ross and Enrique Martinez who have been making music together since the summer of 2012, their first official release for Plant Music is entitled “Runaway” and the EP shimmers with that classic house sound and features remixes from fellow L.A producers Newbody and Plant Music alumni Turtle “Bugg” Morris.

Listen to a full stream below and also snag a free download of the fantastic ode to their hometown “City Of Angels”.

We are proud to announce the premiere and download of the track “Isabelle”, this track is taken from Plant Music’s newest signing Paul Raffaele and his debut solo release “Rose”.

Paul used to be a resident at NYC party “The Dog And Pony Show” but have now turned to the production side and he delivers two low-key and deep yet bouncing house tracks. On the remix tip we find SF based production team Vin Sol & Matrixxman giving away a slick and groovy affair, all while New York legend Prince Language takes a turn into the darker shade of things with a menacing pianodriven version.

Stream the whole EP below.

Discobelle premiere of the new All Dom Wrong single “Give Myself Away”, released today on Plant Music.

All Dom Wrong is the new solo project from Discobelle fam and New York based DJ/producer Dominque Keegan, the pulsating track “Give Myself Away” is engulfed in a deep, Balearic/disco/house sounding groove with a soulful vocal offering coming from the one and only Amy Douglas. The track has already received great feedback from DJs such as Tensnake, Aeroplane, Damien Lazarus, John Digweed, X-Press 2, Danny Tenaglia, Shit Robot, M.A.N.D.Y and many more.

On the remix front, Danish producer Kasper Björke pulls no stops with his abstract, minimal discoish remix, Aashton & Swift hands us a subtle remix that shimmers with stumbling beats and the feel of a track destined to be played right as the sun sets. And finally we get an acid thumping remix from Trap Avoid.