16411 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Sixth Avenue Express

It’s been too long since our buddy Sixth Avenue Express dropped off any new jams, but, with ‘Move On It,’ the wait was well worth it! A fine combination of uplifting chords, strings and vocal chops… this one is pure class.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/154752848″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_artwork=true&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

For their second, official release of 2013, Sixth Avenue Express are pitching for the home team over at House Of Disco with their first solo outing on the imprint. The ‘I See EP” is a sun drenched, four-tracker, perfect for the chilly months ahead and available now on some tasty, 12 inch wax here.

As an added bonus, the fine folks of SAE are giving away a fantastic slice of their signature sound. “Deeper Love” has a mid tempo chug with gospel flavored vocal snips and a truck load of funk… one for tha steppahs, ya’ll!

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/playlists/14427716″ width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

New jam from our man Sixth Avenue Express! Hot little edit in the form of “So Easy,’ chopped and re-envisioned from an obscure, disco compilation from yester-year.

If you love SAE and happened to miss his debut EP, ‘Can’t Stop Feelin,’ grab it here. He also did an exclusive mix for us a few months back –> here. Also, be sure to head over to his Soundcloud for a collection of free jams.

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/109067292″ params=”” width=” 100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Chicago’s Rogue Vogue has been making big waves this year and, thankfully, upped his output as of late. Offering remixes for the likes of French Horn Rebellion, Cyclist and Satin Jackets, his sweaty, throwback vibes have found a proper home on House Of Disco Records with his latest, ‘Say You Will EP’.
Opening with the title cut, ‘Say You Will,’ is six and a half minutes of bouncy, euphoric fun with sparkly percussion and that unmistakable Chi-Town bass line. B-side cut, ‘More Than Enough,’ turns the tuffness up a notch with deep chord stabs, chugging beats and some sweet Vandross snips. Rounding out the package we have remixes from Sixth Avenue Express, Dublin Aunts and LeSale, who takes the cake with his authentic version of ‘Say You Will.’

Be sure and pop over to the Rogue Vogue Soundcloud for a bevy of free downloads and cop this new release here.

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/playlists/7962166″ params=”” width=” 100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Last year we brought you an exclusive mix from Sixth Avenue Express, who we’ve had our eye on for a minute. Now the London-based duo has just released their debut EP “Can’t Stop Feeling” that proves they’re going to be a regular fixture in the electronic music scene. This EP has really given the Sixth Avenue Express boys the chance to showcase their far stretching musical influences.

We’re very excited about Sixth Avenue Express, mostly because he’s an up-and-coming talent with a lot of potential. David Lee’s been featured in VICE’s music arm NOISEY and is expected to drop his debut EP Can’t Stop Feeling early next year. We’ve asked Dave to put together a guest mix for us and here’s what he came up with. It’s a mixture of classic disco, 80s electro, disco edits and more recent house.


01 Love International – Dance on the Groove (and Do the Funk)
02 Roy Ayers – Everybody
03 Gaz Nevada – Special Agent Man (Morgan Geist Edit)
04 Nicholas – Love Is
05 Rayko – Broadway
06 The Sequence – I Just Want to Know
07 La Royale – The Crush
08 Waze & Odyssey – I Can’t Hear You (Dance)
09 Baunz – 808s, Pausetapes & Other Shit
10 Benoit & Sergio – Walk and Talk
11 Scandal – Just Let Me Dance (Maxxi Soundsystem Remix)
12 Ace – How Long (Discolexic Re-Edit)
13 Amin Peck – Girls on Me
14 Still Going – Still Going Theme
15 Jurgen Paape – So Weit Wie Noch Nie

I was very pleasantly surprised to find a nicely written email in my inbox today. It was from Dave Lee, a fresh-faced guy from Manchester, UK producing music under the moniker, Sixth Avenue Express. Using samples from old soul and Motown records, Dave has been making disco house music that culminates in his debut EP, “6th Avenue.” If you want to know a little more about Dave, head on over to the Noisey website where he recently did a short Q&A. My gut tells me we’ll be seeing more of Sixth Avenue Express in the blogosphere soon…