16671 posts since MMVI

Search By Tag: Warp Records

Glaswegian producer Rustie made one of the most acclaimed albums of 2011 with his spectacular “Glass Swords” release. He manages to kickstart 2012 with this boombastic production for Brooklyn rapper Theophilus London, synths frantically buzzing around the beginning of the track along with a tweaked vocal line urging girls to “show their nasty side” and then Rustie kicks the whole thing into full gear with a drop so relentless that Theophilus London’s only choice is to go in hard.

Theophilus London – Last Night (LVRS Anthem) (prod. Rustie) (Mediafire)

DRC Music is a project by Damon Albarn and 10 other musicians including TEED, Dan The Automator, Jneiro Jarel, Richard Russell, Actress, Marc Antoine, Alwest, Rodaidh McDonald and Kwes together with over 50 Congolese musicians. The project took place during 5 hectic days in the Democratic Republic Of Congo and it resulted in a full-length album that was just released on Warp Records with all proceeds going to Oxfam’s work in Congo and musicians in the country.

With just over a week to go till Sonar Festival starts in Barcelona, and as an official media partner with the festival – leading online music store Bleep.com has curated a series of exclusive and never-before-heard MP3s to give away every day this week. Bleep have picked some of the most cutting-edge and forward-thinking artists from the festival line-up to be included in the give-away. The tracks will be revealed only on the day of release.

Each day from Monday 6th June to Friday 10th June at 1200 GMT, a new set of 2 tracks will be announced and made available to download for 24 hours. This will happen for 5 days from Monday РFriday. Labels involved in the give-away include Warp, Big Dada, Tri-Angle, Numbers, Running Back, Earnest Endeavours, Circus Company, Infin̩, and Hoya:Hoya. Please pay close attention to the campaign website for Bleep/Sonar2011 to be made aware of the MP3 give-aways.

Nicolas Jaar – Keep Me There – Sonar x Bleep MP3 Give-away by Bleep.com

Diskjokke – Panutup – Sonar x Bleep MP3 Give-away by Bleep.com


Hungover sunday. But thanks to the good folks over at Curb Crawlers it just got much better. Here’s the L-Vis dub (vocal version featuring Leif to drop shortly) of that infectious track “Township Funk” by South African producer DJ Mujava. One of the best tracks so far this year and it will be released by Warp Records tomorrow.

Here’s the blurb from the Curb Crawlers crew:

“Arguably, “Township Funk” was one of the biggest anthems of the season (despite being over a year old). L-Vis 1990 strip down the Kwaito riddim to the bare basics, up the subs and transform the original’s tropical vibe into a moody and melancholy attitude.”

DJ Mujava – Township Funk (L-Vis 1990 Kwaito dub) (YSI)

DJ Mujava – Township Funk (L-Vis 1990 Kwaito dub) (zShare)

The DJ Mujava Kwaitodance number “Township Funk” was featured on Sindens “We Make It Good vol.3” mix and although it might be a bit old in mp3blog time it’s still banging and it’s been the talk of Grindin this week.

“Township Funk” is tough, dark, African dance music from the industrial city of Pretoria, South Africa. It’s perhaps the most infectious dance record you’ll hear this year, echoing the early Warp sound of LFO or the Forgemasters in an uncanny way, almost 20 years on, across continents. Is South Africa the new hip place for electronic music? Maybe…but we certainly hope that South African house will go worldwide with this track.”

“Township Funk” will be released on Warp Records on 12″ on September 15th worldwide (excluding UK where This Is Music will be in charge) and available from all good digital outlets August 11th.